Sign In

Nuclear Excellence Award winners announced as 2017 BGM draws to an end

At the closure of its 14th Biennial General Meeting held in Gyeongju, South Korea, the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) acknowledged the outstanding contribution made by nine nuclear professionals to promote excellence in the safe operation of commercial nuclear power.
NEA awards 188.png 
The awards were established in 2003 to recognise individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to excellence in the operation of nuclear power plants, or the infrastructure that supports the nuclear power enterprise, or through WANO.
This year's award recipients were:

  • Brian Cowell, EDF Energy
  • Bum-nyun Kim, Korea Hydro & Nuclear Power Company (KHNP)
  • Pavlo Pavlyshyn, Rivne Nuclear Power Plant, NNEGC Energoatom
  • Pierre Pilon, Bruce Power
  • Philippe Sasseigne, √Člectricit√© de France
  • Debbie Sims, WANO Atlanta Centre
  • Jouko Turpeinen, Fortum Power and Heat Oy
  • Jean Van Vyve, ENGIE Electrabel
  • Makoto Yagi, The Kansai Electric Power Company, Inc

WANO extends its congratulations to the nine recipients and thanks them for their dedication to nuclear safety.