Sign In

WANO Nuclear Excellence Awards 2015

Meet the eight winners of the 2015 WANO NEAs
Gavin Greene, Communications Specialist, WANO

​The WANO Nuclear Excellence Award was created in 2002, and is presented at each WANO BGM. The award recognises individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the industry, whether in the operation of nuclear power plants, the infrastructure that supports the nuclear power enterprise, or through WANO.

For 2015, eight recipients were selected, representing seven different countries and all four WANO regions:

Zbyněk GRUNDA of CÊZ​​Zbyněk GRUNDA of CÊZ was awarded the accolade for his lifelong contribution to the development and practical implementation of an operating safety culture at ČEZ, and for continuously strengthening WANO nuclear programmes internationally over the last 21 years.
Miraj Ahmad Khalid of Chashma Nuclear Power Generation StationMiraj Ahmad Khalid of Chashma Nuclear Power Generation Station was awarded the prize for his dedication to design modifications related to instrumentation and control systems, strengthening in-house technical capability, and for enhancing safety and availability of the plant.
Thomas Mitchell of Ontario Power GenerationThomas Mitchell of Ontario Power Generation was the next worthy winner of the award. Thomas was recognised for a nuclear career which spans decades of service at INPO, US utilities, OPG and WANO, and his invaluable contributions at each step.
Gary Newman of Bruce PowerGary Newman of Bruce Power took home the award for achieving superior performance in design engineering at Bruce Power, and for leading the industry in the accomplishment of many improvements in fuel channel technology, enabling significant life extensions for CANDU plants worldwide.
Petrov.jpgAndrey Petrov of JSC Concern Rosenergoatom was recognised for his contribution to safety and performance improvement at WANO Moscow Centre nuclear power plants, successful efforts in extending the lifetime of Smolensk power units, and for his many years of commitment to WANO activities.
Ami Rastas of TVOAmi Rastas of TVO was awarded the NEA for his lifelong dedication to nuclear safety and performance improvement of Olkiluoto nuclear power plant, his leadership in practical formulation of nuclear safety criterion, and his contribution for many years as a WANO governor.
MA Shu of China General Nuclear Power CorporationMA Shu of China General Nuclear Power Corporation collected the award for his significant contribution to safety and performance improvement of units in China General Nuclear Power Corporation, and his technical innovation in improving equipment reliability and maintenance techniques.
Oswald ‘Ike’ Zeringue of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA)

Oswald 'Ike' Zeringue of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) was awarded the prize for his dedication to the improvements of the TVA nuclear programme, and for his unsurpassed commitment to safety and high standards.


"I would like to take this opportunity to thank our eight award winners for setting a standard of excellence to which everyone in the nuclear industry should aspire", said WANO Chairman Jacques Régaldo, following the handing out of awards. "I would be remiss if I did not relate the contributions of these worthy individuals, and of many of you in the audience, and of others in our industry who could not be here tonight, to the quest for nuclear safety. That is what WANO is all about, why we are all here, and why we have come together once again, 26 years after our association was created, to commit to a new and stronger WANO."

The eight 2015 NEA winners