Sign In

WANO Nuclear Safety Scholarship 2015

Meet the winners of the WANO Nuclear Safety Scholarship 2015
Pavel Choudhury, Communications Specialist, WANO

​The inaugural WANO Nuclear Safety Scholarship was set up in 2014 to mark WANO's 25-year anniversary.

Students aged 25 and under, pursuing post-secondary degrees in nuclear power generation, were tasked with submitting a 250-word essay on the importance of making safety their top priority while pursuing a career in nuclear energy.

The four winners were picked by members of WANO's executive leadership team from almost 100 entries submitted by students across the globe.

Boglarka.jpg​Our first scholarship winner Boglárka Babcsány studied at Budapest University of Technology as an energy engineer specialising in nuclear techniques and economics, before finishing her Master's in Physics in 2014. She has completed internships at TÜV Nord SysTec in Hamburg, the Hungarian Atomic Energy Authority and the Hungarian Nuclear Safety Research Institute.
Liang.jpg​Our second scholarship winner Liang Chen is a PhD student in the Department of Nuclear Engineering and Management at the University of Tokyo. He holds a Master's and a Bachelor's degree from Tsinghua University, as well as a French engineering degree from Ecole Centrale de Marseille. He interned at CEA and ITER Organization. He speaks Chinese, English, French and Japanese.
Eric.jpg​Our third scholarship winner Eric Heritage studies Nuclear Engineering at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. His Master's research is in the field of Health Physics and Radiation Science. He obtained his Bachelor of Science with Honours in Physics from the University of Ontario Institute of Technology in April 2014, and worked at both Ontario Power Generation and Canadian Nuclear Laboratories while studying.
Jing.jpg​Our fourth scholarship winner Jing Hu is a third year PhD student at the University of Oxford. She has worked in the international Mechanistic Understanding of Zirconium Corrosion, or MUZIC-2, consortium with Westinghouse, EDF, Rolls-Royce, EPRI and other universities worldwide. She also chairs the Oxford Materials graduate committee and is organising the Oxford Climate Forum.


Each of the winners attended the WANO 2015 Biennial General Meeting in Toronto and received £2,500 towards their future studies.

You can watch the scholarship winners' reactions here.

WANO NSS Winners 2015