Sign In

2011 Nuclear Excellence Awards


Since 2002, the WANO Nuclear Excellence Awards have recognised individuals who make extraordinary contributions to excellence in the operation of nuclear power plants, or the infrastructure that supports the nuclear power enterprise, or through WANO.

Individuals at any level in an organisation are eligible for the awards, which were established in honour of former WANO Chairman Dr. Zack T. Pate.

Below is the nomination and selection process.


Any individual whose work contributes to or supports the successful operation of nuclear power plants operated by any WANO member(s) is eligible for the award. This could include contributions to any part of the infrastructure that supports the nuclear power enterprise. It could also include contributions through WANO.

Exceptions include:

• Past and current WANO Chairmen and Presidents are not eligible.
• Current WANO Governing Board members are not eligible, but they are eligible after leaving the Governing Board.
• WANO Directors are not eligible until two years after leaving the Director position, after which they are eligible for consideration based on their ongoing contributions to the successful operation of nuclear power plants operated by WANO members.

*Note: Past and current Regional Governing Board members ARE eligible.

Criteria for Selection

The individual(s) selected to receive the award will be widely recognised by their peers and colleagues as having made exceptional or extraordinary contributions to excellence in the operation of nuclear power plants, or to the infrastructure that supports the nuclear power enterprise, or through WANO.

Contributions of the individuals will be considered within the scope of an individual's authority and/or their position in an organisation. This will open the selection process to individuals in all levels of an organisation.

Nomination of Candidates

Completing a confidential nomination form and mailing it to the WANO Secretary at the WANO London office will start the nomination process. 

Any individual may nominate a candidate providing the candidate is not an immediate relative.

At least three (but no more than four) confidential reference forms completed by individuals other than the nominating individual must be submitted by mail for each nominated candidate. The nominating individual will be responsible for arranging for the submittal of the reference forms to the WANO secretary.

Individuals with varying backgrounds and positions should be asked to provide references so that the award selection committee will have supporting information on the candidate from a broad cross-section of sources.

The WANO Secretary will receive all nomination and reference information, screen the information for completeness, make confidential inquiries to confirm the authenticity of all submitted information and provide individual nominee packages to the award selection committee for all properly nominated candidates.

All information provided, including the names of nominees, will be treated in the strictest confidence. 

The WANO Secretary has established a cutoff date of 2 May 2011 for receipt of all nominations. All information required to support consideration of a candidate, including Reference Forms, is due by
20 May 2011.

A nominating package can be requested by writing the WANO Secretary at:

Attention: WANO Secretary
Cavendish Court
11-15 Wigmore Street
London, UK
W1U 1PF 
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7478 9202 

Nominating individuals are reminded that the nominating instructions must be meticulously followed to ensure timely and full consideration is given to nominees. The Secretary will keep the Regional Centre Directors apprised of the number of nominations received for individuals from their region in order to facilitate generating a representative number of nominations in each region.

Selection of Award Recipients

The WANO Governing Board establishes an independent award selection committee, including at least one representative from each region. Selection committee members are not eligible for the award.

The award selection committee will review the nomination form and supporting reference information for each properly nominated candidate. Review and selection procedures will be solely at the discretion of the committee. The committee will then recommend award recipients to the WANO Governing Board. Recommendations for up to eight recipients may be made for each Biennial General Meeting (BGM). The committee should ensure fair representation among all four regions, but should not feel pressure to evenly divide the recipients among the regions for every BGM since the regions are of different sizes.

The WANO Governing Board, meeting in executive session, will approve or not approve candidates recommended by the award selection committee (but may not add or substitute candidates). Approval of individual candidates requires a majority of votes. The names of the approved award recipients will be noted in a separate memorandum signed by the WANO Chairman and retained by the WANO Secretary. No copies of the memorandum will be made. Award selection committee members will be notified privately of the result.

Note: The proceedings of the selection committee and the WANO Governing Board with regard to selection of recipients must remain confidential and any requests for additional information should be referred to the Chairman or the WANO Secretary.

The WANO Managing Director will arrange for notifications to award recipients and the appropriate managers in the recipients' organizations, and will coordinate arrangements for attendance of the recipients at the BGM.

The WANO Secretary will notify nominators of those individuals not selected to receive awards. The notification will only note that the individual was not selected to receive an award to ensure the nominator is aware that the individual will not be asked to attend the BGM to receive an award.

Presentation of the Award

The WANO Chairman and/or the WANO President and/or someone designated by the WANO Chairman will present the award(s) at the next BGM, which will be held in China in October 2011. 

The actual award will be accompanied by a resolution approved by the WANO Governing Board providing a summary of the contributions made by the recipient in support of excellence in the operation of nuclear power plants.