Sign In

Tokyo Centre elects a new Chairman


At a recent Tokyo Centre Governing Board meeting, Dr Shreyans Kumar Jain was elected the new WANO Tokyo Centre Chairman.

In May 2012, Dr Jain retired from his position of Chairman and Managing Director of both Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) and Bharatiya Nabhikiya Vidyut Nigam Limited (BHAVINI), after more than four decades in the industry.

In his career, he played a seminal role in the engineering and commissioning of the first PHWR plant at Rajasthan and then subsequently at the Narora Atomic Power Station, which is India's first standardised 220 MWe PHWR. Under his leadership, NPCIL was pursuing a long-term plant to achieve more than 63 GWe of nuclear power installed capacity by 2032.

Dr Jain has received the Indian Nuclear Society Award in 2005, fellowships from the Indian National Academy of Engineering and the Indian Institute of Plant Engineers and honorary doctorates from the University of Mangalore and Satyabhama University of Chennai.