You are running an unsupported version of Internet Explorer. Please upgrade.

WANO announces the winners of the 2022 Nuclear Excellence Awards

At the closure of its sixteenth Biennial General Meeting held in Prague, Czech Republic, the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) acknowledged the outstanding contribution made by eight nuclear professionals to promote excellence in the safe operation of commercial nuclear power.

The honorary awards were established in 2003 in honour one of WANO’s founders, Zack Pate, who recently passed away. They recognise individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to excellence in the operation of nuclear power plants, or the infrastructure that supports the nuclear power enterprise, or through WANO.

Potential award recipients undergo a rigorous nomination and selection process before being approved. WANO presents the awards during each WANO Biennial General Meeting.

This year's award recipients are:
Frank Saunders - Bruce Power 
(Posthumous Award) 
Frank Saunders was one of Bruce Power's founding executives and a friend and mentor to many. He left an enduring legacy both in Canada and internationally through his work in the nuclear industry, which spanned more than 35 years. He was a champion of the nuclear industry with a focus on progressing nuclear innovation, standards and awareness.

Roger Spinnato - Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO)
Roger Spinnato has dedicated his career to the advancement of nuclear safety and reliability worldwide. During his 50-year nuclear career, his leadership built an effective community of like-minded organisations that influenced nuclear safety and reliability both regionally and globally. 

Wu Fang - China Power Investment Corporation
Wu Fang has made outstanding contributions to the safe and reliable operation of new plants, the safe conduct of outages, the pioneering use of nuclear district heating, the building of safety culture, and devotion to supporting WANO activities.

Alexander Shutikov - Rosenergoatom JSC
Alexander Shutikov successfully managed the electricity production of Rosenergoatom, carrying full responsibility for the safe and reliable operation of Russian nuclear power plants. He is an effective leader and conducts himself with the highest professionalism with absolute commitment to the priority of nuclear safety and operational excellence. 

Valeriy Bessonov - Rosenergoatom JSC
Valeriy Bessonov began his nuclear career in 1980. During his time at Balakovo Nuclear Power Plant, he directly contributed to all stages of commissioning units 3 and 4, promoting high levels of safety and reliability. Valeriy ensured strong international cooperation and engagement with WANO and likeminded organisations such as IAEA to strengthen the nuclear industry.

Mikko Kosonen - Teollisuuden Voima Oyj (TVO)
Over 38 years, Mikko Kosonen has worked to ensure safe nuclear power. He was responsible for the safe operation of Olkiluoto 1 and 2 and supported the new Olkiluoto 3 power plant project from the development of the bidding phase. Mikko has been a WANO Paris Centre Governor since 2008 and Vice Chairman of the Paris Regional Governing Board.

Steve Milton - EDF Energy Generation
Internationally recognised as a WANO Champion, Steve Milton has made a significant contribution to WANO’s mission. As a leader amongst WANO Interface Officers, Steve ensured that many talented individuals and his company provided strong support to WANO.

Liu Jing - China National Nuclear Corporation (CNNC)
Liu Jing has more than 30 years’ experience in nuclear power construction and operation safety management. He has made outstanding contributions to China's nuclear power design and development and cultivated the promotion of nuclear safety culture excellence in pursuit of long-term safe nuclear power operations.

Ingemar Engkvist, Chief Executive Officer at WANO, stated: “On behalf of WANO and its members, we congratulate the winners of these awards. Each has demonstrated sustained excellence in driving operational safety and reliability within their plants and facilities. We are delighted to honour them today. These winners have dedicated their careers to help their organisations and others to achieve operational excellence.”